Android / Moto X: Instant Messaging Problems

GSOAT

Sep 12, 2014
Visit site
Hey guys- I got my Moto X today, took the SIM out of my iPhone 5, put it into the Moto X, set it up, and then promptly texted my sister (who has an iPhone) using the stock messaging app. She replied, but the reply didn't come to my new Moto X- it went to my iPhone, which was on wifi despite not having a SIM card. I know little to nothing about all of the variations, like SMS and all that, plus I am new to Android.

Can someone walk me through how I get a messaging app (I don't care which one) set up to send and receive text messages correctly? It is disappointing that something so simple doesn't work right out of the box...

Thanks in advance!

mhunter6378

May 15, 2013
Visit site
On the iPhone, open settings, Message, scroll down to Send & Receive and tap where it says "addresses", tap where you see you Apple ID, then sign out. Do the same for FaceTime, tap your Apple ID and then sign out of FaceTime. If you have an iPad, Mac or any other Apple devices that you use for iMessage, sign out on them as well. That will release your phone number from the Apple servers. You should be able to get SMS from iPhones after that. Until your number is signed out from your Apple ID, all your texts from iPhones will go to your Apple ID.

planoman

Aug 12, 2010
Visit site
You have to turn off iMessage on your iPhone before taking the SIM out and putting it into you Moto X. When using the iPhone, sign out of and turn off iMessage on the iPhone and any other i devices that use the same apple id (if you use it with apple id) i.e. iPad, then turn off and swap your SIM to the Moto X and it should work.

I got the iPhone 6+ and was going back and forth with my Nexus 5 and and have not had any issues with text messages.

drew_sf

Nov 20, 2013
Visit site