Tools needed to install MT browser on rooted Droid?

Ignitros

Oct 25, 2009
Visit site
I'm trying to find all the stuff I need to install the Multi Touch browser onto my newly rooted Droid. I'm having all sorts of trouble finding only the absolutely needed programs and files.

I am new to this so keep in mind that Just yelling at me about how I need to search the forums doesn't help me. I have read a ton of threads and have at least a dozen odd things that people say you should need but I really have no idea what is truly relevant and what is just fluff.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ignitros

Oct 25, 2009
Visit site
I actually have that thread bookmarked. I honestly have no idea what they mean by mount and adb... I assume adb means the program adb shell? but how do you get the command screen and such? Sounds stupid but I'm really not that familiar with the terms. I'd like to think I'm not a total idiot since I sued to change seems on my old Moto phones but this is pretty foreign to me.

Jerry Hildenbrand

Space Cowboy
Staff member
Oct 11, 2009
Visit site
Remember when you rooted your phone, you used the command prompt. you need to do that here as well.

Open the console on your computer, at the prompt navigate to the location you extracted the Android SDK. Then navigate to the tools folder.

At the prompt, type in the commands listed.

Hint for Vista users - use explorer and find your Android SDK/tools folder. Hold shift and right click on it to open the command prompt in that directory.

Cory Streater

Sep 21, 2009
Visit site
Assuming you've rooted your phone, this is what I did:

1.) Installed Root Explorer from Android Market.
2.) Using Root Explorer I opened the /system folder and then I clicked the Mount R/W button toward the top.
3.) I then opened the app folder in Root Explorer and renamed browser.odex to browser.odex.old
4.) Downloaded and extracted the files in the zip t3hSteve posted to c:\ on my laptop.