Linux X users shout out!

El Poblano

Jul 31, 2010
Visit site
All of us here who see their X as an extension of bash command goodness, represent! What distro so you use? Do you use a terminal emulator, or adb? Vlc or banshee remote?

.46caliber

Jun 16, 2010
Visit site
I'm new to Linux as well as Android.

I had Kubuntu 9.10 on my desktop, then updated to 10.04 on that machine and revived my old college laptop with a new HDD and 10.04.

I've also played with Mint 9 LXDE and it looks good, but far more users for Ubuntu variants means it's easier to find help and I already have gotten familiar with it.

jdbower

Jul 2, 2010
Visit site
Ubuntu user returning to the fold. I used Slackware back in the good old days, migrated to Redhat back before Fedora existed, then it fell by the wayside as I no longer needed to have a full computer act as a router and I was able to get Windows file sharing up and running. Now I'm at a company that actually supports Ubuntu desktops and I've since added a server in the basement with a bunch of Ubuntu Virtual Machines (a DNS server, an IPv6 router, a web server, probably a few I'm forgetting). I installed it on all of my desktops and laptops save for my wife's - my HP TouchSmart has been the most "interesting" from a driver support standpoint. On my TouchSmart I have a VM dedicated to Android development, but I haven't had much time to do much more than install the SDK.

Not much in the way of Linux-related Android apps on my phone, though. CLI is rough on a tiny keyboard since autocomplete doesn't understand that "sudo apt-get vim" is a complete sentence. Still, some of these may appeal:
aLogCat is a way to view the Android equivalent to /var/log/messages
Full Keyboard has a lot of the escape characters you'll need, but it's not a great full-time input method - nowhere near as fast as Swype for plain text.
ConnectBot allows me to ssh into my hypervisor and Wyse PocketCloud connects to VirtualBox RDP servers.