HELP nexus 10 won't work unless plugged in

Saalik Rauf

Jul 15, 2013
Visit site
I've had my nexus 10 for a few months and it worked fine until a couple of days ago when it began to become very hot around where the light sensor is, an app that measures battery life says it's about 105? f, then it crashes and i have to reboot it. It would work fine until yesterday, now if its not plugged in it won't get passed the x boot up, if it's plugged in it works fine but if i unplug it, on 100% battery it lasts five seconds before flickering and crashing. If i continue to try to boot it after that without plugging it in it will eventually stop trying and after plugging it in it has 0 battery. Is there a way to fix this or is my nexus 10 dead now. My suspicion is the battery burned out, i use the stock charger with the pogo cable

Sithtiger

Mar 29, 2013
Visit site
I'm no Android expert as I've only had my Nexus 10 about 5 months, but I do build and repair computers and this really sounds like a thermal issue. You, yourself said that it was very hot. I don't know if you've rooted it or anything, but regardless I think I would send it in for repair. Hopefully your warrantee is still good, but if not it still needs to be looked at because heat problems can permanently damage your device.

One thing you could try is to do a factory reset. You have to understand that this could damage it....that is to say just turning it on could permanently damage it, if it's a heat issue, so keep that in mind. So with that in mind, factory reset might fix it as maybe the system has become corrupt. Before I did anything though, I think I would call them and tell them the issue including the high temp and ask them if there's anything that you could do first.

TL;DR:
Contact manufacturer for help and see if resetting would fix the problem. Ask them first before doing anything because if it really is a heat issue, any operation could permanently damage your device.

Posted via Android Central App