How to get a good sunset picture

camanokid

Jul 9, 2012
Visit site
One of my best sunset shots was taken as a portrait photo.
My wife was the person in the photo....we were on a cruise ship at sunset.
I placed here directly in front the the ball of sun....to soften the shot, while retaining the backglow.
I turned on the flash to highlight the foregroung.
The combination was a well lit subject and a terrific background.

ChemMan

May 7, 2013
Visit site
I've been using digital cameras for over 17 years and there has not been ONE that doesn't overexpose highlights. I routinely use minus exposure compensation to prevent loss of detail.
In my regular cameras that have histograms or highlight "blinkies" I use those tools to predict what areas will be overexposed if I click the shutter with the settings the camera chooses.
With the Note 4 I rely on what the lcd shows me - which can still be unreliable since I chose the light level displayed!
For general use I keep the display as dark as possible to preserve battery life, so I can be misled, but if a sunset looks overexposed when I have the display so dark, I know I'm going to have a washed out picture.

You are so right, chuck, about tweaking the camera settings for the best results - and that applies to regular cameras as well!

The other very significant thing about overexposed photos to remember is once the highlights are blown-out they are gone forever. Low exposures to a certain degree can be lightened but not the otherway around.

MalinoisK9

Dec 14, 2014
Visit site