I am new to android...is there any way to get rid of the bloatware without rooting??
    12-13-2011 03:52 PM
    Welcome! Unfortunately, no. You must root to get rid of the Social Hub and AT&T Navigator and whatnot.
    12-13-2011 04:18 PM
    I have been reading up on rooting...it is definitely not as easy as jailbreaking. A lot more in depth. Is rooting the phone worth it? Also been tyring to find out the pro's and con's of rooting.
    12-14-2011 01:29 PM
    I have been reading up on rooting...it is definitely not as easy as jailbreaking. A lot more in depth. Is rooting the phone worth it? Also been tyring to find out the pro's and con's of rooting.
    Depends on the person. If you like to have full control of your phone and install custom ROMs, kernels, etc., then yes. For most people though, it is not worth it. I know plenty of people who do not root and are perfectly happy with their phones. I rooted mine and installed a custom ROM, but in all honesty I could have not done it and still be happy. Just depends on what you want from your phone and if stock works for you. On the other hand, if stock doesn't work out, then go ahead an root it.
    12-14-2011 01:59 PM
    Well this might be a stupid question, but what is the "easiest/quickest" way to root? I would love to take off all the bloatware...so annoying.
    12-14-2011 02:49 PM
    Rooting is SIMPLE.

I did it myself just the other night, and I was nervous I was going to brick the phone. I followed this procedure:

http://forums.androidcentral.com/sky...hat-i-did.html

It worked perfectly.
    12-14-2011 04:33 PM
    Apprecaite it! I will try this tonight.
    12-15-2011 06:51 AM
    I'm new to Android.

Coming over from BB. Have a lot to learn.

Hate all he extra garbage AT&T put on thee phone.

Until I get to the comfort level to root my phone, can I take the bloatware that comes on a phone, move it to a folder and hide the folder?

If so, where can I read up on what I need & how to do it?