GS3, Google Voice Search and S-Voice

MX5_Toronto

Jul 9, 2012
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I'm coming from team Crackberry. Had a Blackberry for over 6 years and would visit Crackberry.com on a daily (maybe hourly) basis, but I've decided to make the switch to Android Central!

I don't know much about Android and all the yummy tasting OS upgrades.

I'm thinking about making the GS3 my first android device but was intrigued of videos I saw online which showed off Google Voice Search (cards?) within Jelly Bean.

As an android newbie, I'm having a hard time understading how this will integrate with the GS3, especially since S-Voice performs the same funtions.

Before making my decision I was wondering...

Is it possible/likely that Samsung will block certain features in upcoming OS updates? (ie: disable google voice in favor of S-Voice)

Is there any precedent of this happening in the past with other OEM's?

How might the GS3 work with two different voice assitants? Do they have to pick one? Can both co-exist?

As existing GS3 owners, how did you decide on this phone and was the risk of these overlapping features part of your consideration when picking a new device?

Thanks for your time, and thanks for being a great resource.

KreepyKen

Just a cool guy
Jul 17, 2011
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I'm coming from team Crackberry. Had a Blackberry for over 6 years and would visit Crackberry.com on a daily (maybe hourly) basis, but I've decided to make the switch to Android Central!

I don't know much about Android and all the yummy tasting OS upgrades.

I'm thinking about making the GS3 my first android device but was intrigued of videos I saw online which showed off Google Voice Search (cards?) within Jelly Bean.

As an android newbie, I'm having a hard time understading how this will integrate with the GS3, especially since S-Voice performs the same funtions.

Before making my decision I was wondering...