Samsung Galaxy S5 - Verizon - Latest Update before Lollipop?

DotScott1

Feb 6, 2015
Visit site
Hello,

I'm trying to figure out what the latest update was before the Lollipop update on the Verizon Wireless Samsung Galaxy S5.

Here's the thing: The lollipop update... is pretty terrible. On the Verizon GS5 anyway. Battery life is awful now, lost a lot of functionality, it's a little bit slower than it was before, I don't care about their pretty new colors (design), etc. This isn't a post to complain more about that though, it's just that I'm factory resetting my GS5 and wanted to see if I could flash that update that I had just before the Lollipop update..... somehow.... I'm new to this :/

Any information or advice would be greatly appreciated. Do you know which version of Android that was? 4.4.4.something I think.

DotScott1

Feb 6, 2015
Visit site
Thanks, Jacqui! Hmm good question! I would first check your documents and download folders, though I doubt it would save something like a system update in either of those locations. I'll try to look into this and let you know what I find :) in the meantime, just make sure you don't install the update! :x (just my opinion)

DotScott1

Feb 6, 2015
Visit site
Ok, it looks like it should be located in a /cache folder. The file would be very large and probably have a long name that (at least partially) includes the name of the update (Lollipop). I can't test it for myself so you'll have to let me know how it goes. I hope this helps you locate it!

Jacqui Holder

Mar 6, 2015
Visit site
I read someone else's thread about how to delete my cache partition. I did that and no files show as you indicated. But I still keep getting the message to Install the Update (NOT download the update). So, somehow it realizes that I already downloaded the file and is waiting to install. I can't get this message to quit appearing. This is really crappy. I've posted a couple of other threads and no one has responded. :(

DotScott1

Feb 6, 2015