Samsung+ and Battery Usage

WetFrogMule

Mar 30, 2016
Visit site
I'm new to the S2, 8.0 version. My tablet is up to date on patches.
Since coming out of the box (a day short of a week), the Samsung+ app is using the most amount of battery on the tablet.
Out of the last 2d 12h on battery Samsung+ has used 20% of the battery. This crazy high use has been the norm for my tablet.
The next highest is 15% for screen. After that it falls off a cliff at 4% for Android System.
Even sitting in standby, I lose battery and it seems to be this Samsung+ application.
I have not seen this complained about on any forums. Any idea what Samsung+ is doing and what I may be able to do to control its battery usage?
Would appreciate comments.

wfm

Hurrycanejohn

Jul 18, 2013
Visit site
Go into your Settings/Application Manager and disable the Samsung+ App. It doesn't need to be running if you don't use it. 😊

Posted via the Android Central App

Alex Va

Mar 30, 2015
Visit site
Yes, this app is known for excessive battery consumption on all devices (I've seen it needlessly wasting battery power on smartphones too). Just disable it and don't ever re-enable it, it's pretty useless anyway.

WetFrogMule

Mar 30, 2016
Visit site
I disabled it right after the recommendation. Battery life did improve, although it still seems to drain in use and on standby faster than I'd like. My comparison is the iPad Mini. Changed wifi to be off when asleep. I'll try playing around with dropping into airplane mode when it is asleep to see if that helps. Thanks

Tech-Newb

Oct 14, 2015
Visit site
I disabled it right after the recommendation. Battery life did improve, although it still seems to drain in use and on standby faster than I'd like. My comparison is the iPad Mini. Changed wifi to be off when asleep. I'll try playing around with dropping into airplane mode when it is asleep to see if that helps. Thanks