Newbie Smartwatch Questions - Galaxy Edition

njgsx96

Mar 18, 2011
Visit site
Hey everyone, looking for a little assistance. I am completely new to smartwatches and was hoping to get some answers here as it relates to the Galaxy Watch and I guess smartwatches in general. I picked up a Note9 at launch and am going all in with Samsung and making it my first smartwatch. I am on Verizon so not sure when/if LTE comes out so BT/Wi-fi is OK. I want it for... telling time (duh) and tracking steps and activities and such. Some of my questions might just be me not knowing anything about smartwatches, and I apologize for being such a newbie.

1.) If I go for a run or walk or whatever, and I do not carry my phone with me, will GPS still work as well as logging and when I get in range of the phone or to a known wi-fi hotspot, will it upload/sync to the phone app?

2.) I use the Samsung health app. Do I want to use the phone to track or the watch or both? Do they sync properly or do they differ and cause issues in tracking?

3.) For a watch with no connectivity (LTE), is wi-fi as goo as BT? Meaning, if I have the watch connected to wi-fi, will it talk to the phone? Or does it need to be paired with BT?

Any other things to look out for in general?

thank you everyone!
Rich

pkcable

Q&A Team Leader, VR Expert
Ambassador
Jun 8, 2010
Visit site
1. Yes it should.

2. I'm pretty sure the Samsung Health app will aggregate data between the phone and the watch. I don't really know for sure, BUT it should work that way. My Apple watch does this. :) I can't imagine the Samsung watch not doing this. :)

3. Totally not sure on this. In theory it should, but in my experience (Apple Watch, TicWatch2, and Android Wear), I always used Bluetooth. Why wouldn't you want to use BT? You CAN still connect other devices, such as a headset, or BT speaker. WiFi won't really save you much battery life over BT use, UNLESS you have to have the WiFi on anyways.

11B1P

Trusted Member
Sep 16, 2012