Developing for BlackBerry vs. Android

Steppschuh

Jul 11, 2012
Visit site
Developing for BlackBerry vs. Android
I want to share my experience with developing for Android and developing for BlackBerry with you folks. I don?t want to talk about development only, I will also let you know my thoughts about analytics and revenue. I've just posted this at the CrakBerry forums, but I think it might also be an interesting read for Android developers.

I know that there are people out there that whitewash the process of creating applications and generating income for their needs (on both platforms), that?s not what I?m planning to do.

I don?t want to judge the platforms in any way, just sharing my impressions and facts.

About me
To understand my situation you will need to know some general things about me. I am a 20 years old developer from Potsdam, Germany. I?m studying IT Systems Engineering at the Hasso Plattner Institute for Software Systems Engineering. I started developing for Android in 2011, soon to be followed by BlackBerry in 2012. That?s when I started my own business. My main project for BlackBerry is bb10bars.net and the BB10 Sideloading Tool.

Comparison
I will use the Remote Control Collection as foundation for my comparison. The Android version of that app is available since November 2011. By now it has a few more features than the BlackBerry version, so I won?t compare the latest version and stats to be fair.

The BlackBerry version is a native BB10 Cascades app, following all the Built for BlackBerry guidelines. It is available since March 2013 and offers a noticeable higher performance than the Android app. Before the launch of BB10, it was available as an Android port for the PlayBook.

Developing