Android programming

jkepler

Jun 1, 2014
Visit site
Hi,

I would really like to enter in programming applications for Android. I'm a software developer in VB6 and C++.
Newbie question: where do I start? What software is there for this? What language?

Sorry for my ignorance... :'(

Kind regards,

JKepler

saisyam

May 30, 2012
Visit site
I think you should first start with some Java Basics before jumping into Android. Because Android is built on Java. If you are familiar with some mobile device programming (windows phone as you are from .NET) that will be bit helpful. Understand the Android architecture, for example, Android layouts, activities, different display sizes and their densities etc. Go to Android Developer website to get started. Welcome to Android programming

LastAtaman

Aug 3, 2014
Visit site
You should start with Java studiyng first without a doubts!!!!!!
Next step I recommend to start with these lessons: startandroid.ru/en/lessons/complete-list.html

jkmos

Aug 4, 2014
Visit site
I just developed my first app with Eclipse.
The last time I coded "something" was years ago. Eclipse is easy to use but sometimes you need to "clean" the code to save the project without errors.

Nebulic

Aug 10, 2014
Visit site
My tip would be just to Google a lot! Most of your questions are already answered and you can find even extra things you might not have thought about in the first place. Don't just copy/past but try to understand what you are doing.

manohar malkar

Aug 12, 2014
Visit site
hello all
i am php developer and wanted to learn android. and i am using android studio is that ok? because its still in beta version.... please help...
also suggest me some good tutorial websites for android development....

thanks

Feb 21, 2014
Visit site
I think that we will all be using Android Studio soon enough. Eclipse is charming, but it is buggy, and I won't be heartbroken to let it go.