New to Android and just got a Captivate. Root/Rom questions

Tenacious--M

Nov 3, 2010
Visit site
I am new to Android and just got a Captivate. I understand its pretty glitchy with the Samsung software and am wondering about a couple of things:

1. I hear a lot about rooting. What does this actually do for me? Is this loading a new Rom? Or are those two seperate things?

2. Which is the best software Rom to load on it with the best performance and least glitches? Is getting stock 2.2 Froyo on it an option or does it have to have the TouchWiz interface?

3. Whats the easiest way to load it?

4. Can I save the stock Samsung ROM in case I need to return and replace my captivate (warranty)?
This will definitely get me started in the right direction. Thank you!

packerbacker

Sep 20, 2010
Visit site
1. Rooting and flashing/"loading" a ROM are two different things. Rooting just gives you hacking access. Rooting alone doesn't really do anything, in itself. It just gives you permission to do things (like debloat/rename files, flash ROMs, get apps that require root access). All phones from with a stock ROM, but people make custom ROMs which are supposed to speed up the phone and oftentimes are full of tweaks and features.

2. This I can't answer because I don't have a Captivate. I have a Fascinate. Does the Captivate have 2.2 on it yet? Because if you're rooted, you won't get 2.2. It'll try to update it and fail. Someone will come out with a root friendly 2.2 update shortly after. (Or you can unroot/return to stock, get the update, and then re-root.)

3. The easiest way to root has to be in the Captivate ROMs/Hacks. Here is the specific thread:
http://forum.androidcentral.com/t-c...-you-need-know-un-cripple-your-captivate.html