Kies will not recognize my Galaxy SIII

badbrad17

Dec 2, 2011
Visit site
None of these fixes are working for me. I am on Vista and it will just not recognize my GS3. It continuously "installs" the MTP driver while it is plugged in. It always says it is successful, but then almost immediately runs it again. I do not see the option to stop it from looking for the Windows Update driver (is this a difference with Vista?), but I did change the setting in the system properties so that Windows Update should never look for drivers.

Kies recognizes that my phone is the GT-I9300, but then it just keeps saying "connecting"...

Any ideas? This is driving me crazy!

What is it that you want to use Kies for? I never use that program. I sync everything using Companion link. It's awesome. I back up using Titanium Backup.

Sent from my SGH-T989D using Android Central Forums

badbrad17

Dec 2, 2011
Visit site
Having the same issues as many of you. I'm brand new to the world of smart phones and I wanted to go high-end. I've been thrilled with everything about my GS3, except this problem. Not being able to pull my music onto my phone is a dealbreaker. I'm running Windows XP SP3, and I also get the "connecting" forever in Kies. Windows also gives me a pop-up that says something about a hardware installation error whenever I connect my GS3 as an MTP, but when I connect it as a camera it works fine. Frust. Rating. I will keep slogging away for now, but I bought my device unlocked and I am already eyeing a Nexus 4 once they're stocked again.

If you are trying to copy music you don't need Kies. Just plug in the phone, make sure you select to use USB connection on your phone then it will open your phone on your pc just like a usb stick. Just copy your music into the music folder on your phone and it will show up in your music player.

Targon

Sep 1, 2012
Visit site