Cannot install custom rom please help

horse482

May 28, 2012
Visit site
I am new to Android phones and was given a HTC Aria and have successfully rooted the phone, but now I am trying to install a custom rom. I have tried a couple of different roms and tried multiple times to install them and cannot make it work. What am I missing? I have down loaded the files, unzipped them on my SD card, wiped all info and selected the file for install when my phone reboots it is just like a new phone but still running 2.1. Will someone please help me. Also ever since trying my phone will just reboot while sitting there. Thanks in advance for you help with this.

thenameisnigel

Apr 27, 2012
Visit site
I am new to Android phones and was given a HTC Aria and have successfully rooted the phone, but now I am trying to install a custom rom. I have tried a couple of different roms and tried multiple times to install them and cannot make it work. What am I missing? I have down loaded the files, unzipped them on my SD card, wiped all info and selected the file for install when my phone reboots it is just like a new phone but still running 2.1. Will someone please help me. Also ever since trying my phone will just reboot while sitting there. Thanks in advance for you help with this.

You don't unzip....

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Android Central Forums

Reactions: horse482

Revenant Ghost

Mar 25, 2012
Visit site
After rooting the phone, have you flashed a custom recovery? If not, do some Googling or search this site to see how to flash one. Also you DON'T unzip the files of the ROMs, leave them as they are and install them from the recovery. Make sure you wipe the cache and dalvik from recovery first though.

horse482

May 28, 2012
Visit site
How do I stop the phone from rebooting by itself? Also I'm keep getting an error E: Can't open /sdcard/update.zip (bad). I have tried to get to it manually also. What does a flashed custom recovery do?

Last edited:

tylermich7

Mar 29, 2011