Captivate Modem FAQ's (Updated 4/8)

ls377

Aug 6, 2010
Visit site
I’m not a modem expert or anything, but this might be a good reference for those who have signal or battery issues (or just have the itch to flash something). Anyone who has additional info/corrections, post it here or shoot me a PM and I’ll add it to this post.

DISCLAIMER: Me, Android Central, or any member of these forums, are not responsible for what you do to your phone.

What is a modem?

The modem (aka radio) is basically the software portion of the cellular radio in your phone. This has an effect on signal (obviously), and battery life.

Why do I care?

If you’ve never flashed a ROM and don’t plan to, then this probably isn’t something you should worry about. The modem that came with the last OTA update will be the best 99% of the time. However, if your signal diminished with an update, and you’re willing to flash something, then you might be interested in “downgrading” to an older modem.

If you’re using a custom ROM (I9000 based in particular), you may have more to gain. If you use an I9000 based kernel, you will use an I9000 based modem, NOT one made for the Captivate. These work just fine most of the time, but because they aren’t made for your phone or network, you may run into issues.

How do I know what modem I have?

Setting>About Phone>Baseband Version

When should I try a new modem?

If you are perfectly happy with your signal and battery life (yeah, I know there’s only 3 of you, but it has to be said), then don’t worry about it. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. If you’re having issues, then maybe it’s time to flash a new modem. Just be warned, some modems will improve your signal, some will do the opposite. If you’re in a low signal area, and have no way of flashing back right away, then wait for a better situation.

Which modem should I use?

There are two basic rules to modems:
1. Use a 2.1 modem with a 2.1 ROM/kernel; Use a 2.2 with 2.2.