Complete Newb (unlimited data question)

CMONEYT8KER

Sep 8, 2011
Visit site
I have been grandfathered in to the verizon unlimited data plan. Can I get this phone and use it as my primary internet source? Assuming it is unlocked or rooted whatever u call it.

fogflyer

Sep 4, 2011
Visit site
I have been grandfathered in to the verizon unlimited data plan. Can I get this phone and use it as my primary internet source? Assuming it is unlocked or rooted whatever u call it.

I believe you can root it and tether (wirelessly or wired) without paying for the tethering, or you can pick up an app called Easy Tether that costs 10 bucks and you can use it to tether with a USB cable without being rooted. I used this app on my OG Droid and it worked great. The app is no longer in the market though, but can be purchased on Amazon or elsewhere online.

ninjataint

Feb 11, 2010
Visit site
The unlimited data transfers if that is what you are asking. I am pretty sure they don't want you tethering without an extra package

kelton

Feb 12, 2011
Visit site
I wonder if "easy tether" (a tether with an actual usb cable) is more disguised than the rooted, wireless hotspot type tethering.

I'm not looking to take advantage of Verizon, but in a pinch, I'd like to be able to email an attached word document

fogflyer

Sep 4, 2011
Visit site
I wonder if "easy tether" (a tether with an actual usb cable) is more disguised than the rooted, wireless hotspot type tethering.

I'm not looking to take advantage of Verizon, but in a pinch, I'd like to be able to email an attached word document
I never rooted my OG Droid, mainly because I had Easy Tether. I did not use it heavily, but the internet at my work is spotty and would go out often. I would just plug in the Droid and keep going. Used it a few days a month for two years without a problem.

pharologst

Aug 8, 2011
Visit site