Insufficient Storage??

mikefour77

Well-known member
Aug 23, 2012
55
0
0
Visit site
Can someone please explain to me why I my apps won't update? I keep getting an error saying insufficient storage, but when I look at the storage available, I see this:

Screenshot_2013-08-16-09-53-13.png

Maybe I am confused, but do I not have over 500MB available????
 

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Moderator
Dec 4, 2012
35,342
100
63
Visit site
Can someone please explain to me why I my apps won't update? I keep getting an error saying insufficient storage, but when I look at the storage available, I see this:



Maybe I am confused, but do I not have over 500MB available????

Keep in mind, the OS likes to have a certain number of space free. I think it's 250 MB. So there is half of your remaining storage. Perhaps cleaning up the phone to get more. Delete apps you don't use. Clear cache in recovery. Delete older SMS and MMS that you really don't need. Any media file (Music, videos, pictures) that could be moved to your SD card, move them.
 

drk65

Well-known member
Oct 19, 2011
134
8
0
Visit site
Can someone please explain to me why I my apps won't update? I keep getting an error saying insufficient storage, but when I look at the storage available, I see this:

Maybe I am confused, but do I not have over 500MB available????

A simple 1st step to dry is deleting a few unused/unnecessary apps, then install a Cache Cleaner app, like CleanMaster (which I've successfully used for about 6-8 months). Use that app to clear out the cache for all applicable apps (no root required). After the cleaning process is complete, go back to the Play store and see if you can now install the updates. --- Personal preference... but I would update each app one at a time, rather than selecting the "Update All" option. --- Good Luck!
 

srkmagnus

Retired Moderator
May 23, 2010
13,434
210
0
Visit site
Clearing cache will certainly help free up storage. Do the above recommendations and let us know how things go.
 

mikefour77

Well-known member
Aug 23, 2012
55
0
0
Visit site
Clearing cache will certainly help free up storage. Do the above recommendations and let us know how things go.

First off, thanks for the replies! I ended up removing some unused apps to get around this problem for now, but here's where I am confused.

When I clear the cache for some of the apps on the phone, the "device memory" is unaffected; I only gain free space on the internal memory, which is not even half full (see screenshot):

n.png

So what gives? When the system says 'insufficient storage' which one are they talking about?? I should note that I do not use an external SD card since the card reader on my phone doesn't work.
 

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Moderator
Dec 4, 2012
35,342
100
63
Visit site
First off, thanks for the replies! I ended up removing some unused apps to get around this problem for now, but here's where I am confused.

When I clear the cache for some of the apps on the phone, the "device memory" is unaffected; I only gain free space on the internal memory, which is not even half full (see screenshot):

View attachment 76966

So what gives? When the system says 'insufficient storage' which one are they talking about?? I should note that I do not use an external SD card since the card reader on my phone doesn't work.

Just to make sure, you cleared the devices cache in recovery mode, right? Here is how: http://forums.androidcentral.com/sa...ing-into-recovery-mode-galaxy-s2-s3-tab2.html

Sent from a SlimROM S3.
 

mikefour77

Well-known member
Aug 23, 2012
55
0
0
Visit site
Just to make sure, you cleared the devices cache in recovery mode, right? Here is how: http://forums.androidcentral.com/sa...ing-into-recovery-mode-galaxy-s2-s3-tab2.html

Sent from a SlimROM S3.

No, the previous posts indicated using Clean Master which cleared some of the application caches of the apps on the device, not the device cache.

I missed the distinction between the application and device cache you made in your previous post where you refer to recovery mode.
 

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Moderator
Dec 4, 2012
35,342
100
63
Visit site
No, the previous posts indicated using Clean Master which cleared some of the application caches of the apps on the device, not the device cache.

I missed the distinction between the application and device cache you made in your previous post where you refer to recovery mode.

No sweat. Happens a lot. Have you tried it?

Sent from a SlimROM S3.
 

drk65

Well-known member
Oct 19, 2011
134
8
0
Visit site
Just to make sure, you cleared the devices cache in recovery mode, right? Here is how: http://forums.androidcentral.com/sa...ing-into-recovery-mode-galaxy-s2-s3-tab2.html

Sent from a SlimROM S3.

My understanding that Clearing Cache in Recovery Mode is doing the same thing that CleanMaster does within the app to Clear Cache. --- However, if you want to go a step deeper, you can also try clearing the "Dalvik Cache". Without rooting, that can only be done in Recovery Mode, and I believe you'll find the Dalvik selection under "Advanced" (or something like that) within the phone's Recovery Mode. --- Note that when you clear the Dalvik Cache, your phone will take longer to boot on the next startup, as you'll see it rebuilding some system files. Good Luck!
 

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Moderator
Dec 4, 2012
35,342
100
63
Visit site
My understanding that Clearing Cache in Recovery Mode is doing the same thing that CleanMaster does within the app to Clear Cache. --- However, if you want to go a step deeper, you can also try clearing the "Dalvik Cache". Without rooting, that can only be done in Recovery Mode, and I believe you'll find the Dalvik selection under "Advanced" (or something like that) within the phone's Recovery Mode. --- Note that when you clear the Dalvik Cache, your phone will take longer to boot on the next startup, as you'll see it rebuilding some system files. Good Luck!

Whenever I run Clean Master, I don't get any system applications. That is why I suggest a recovery cache wipe.

Sent from a SlimROM S3.
 

mikefour77

Well-known member
Aug 23, 2012
55
0
0
Visit site
Whenever I run Clean Master, I don't get any system applications. That is why I suggest a recovery cache wipe.

Sent from a SlimROM S3.

Just an FYI - I was getting the original error message again, and this time, I went and cleared the Davlik cache with no luck upon reboot. I still needed to remove some other apps to free up space to allow the updates.

Any other thoughts?
 

Patbvd

New member
Oct 15, 2013
2
0
0
Visit site
Simple fix is to go to you phone keypad and enter *#9900# then choose the second option which is "Delete dumpstate/logcat". That's it - all done.
 

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Moderator
Mar 9, 2012
164,990
4,018
113
Visit site
What device are you using? I was assuming that you have an Epic 4G Touch, like the OP.

Posted via Android Central App
 

Trending Posts

Forum statistics

Threads
941,488
Messages
6,909,134
Members
3,157,944
Latest member
karl.stubbs