Location turning itself off?

Mooncatt

Ambassador
Feb 23, 2011
Visit site
I got a warranty refurb V20 recently and it keeps turning location services off. Yes, off, not on (as apparently Google thinks I'm searching for that instead. Lol). I double checked to make sure battery optimization is off, and I also have Verizon's health check disabled. Any other suggestions on where to check? I doubt it's a gps sensor issue, as I typically have it set to battery saving mode using networks only. When I do run gps for Maps, it works fine.

Mooncatt

Ambassador
Feb 23, 2011
Visit site
Just an update and potentially solved?

For some reason, my initial problem went away and my location stayed on. That then presented a new problem. When set to battery saving mode to use tower/network based approximation, it would never update and I would have to turn GPS on to get it to show my location properly (I use it often for my weather app since I drive for a living). So I decided to try a reboot. Once booted up again, I tried opening my weather app and this time I got a Google Location Services pop-up asking if I wanted to use it to find my location when in battery saving location mode. After I agreed to that, the app updated correctly and all has been well since.

flyingkytez

Banned
Jan 28, 2011
Visit site
I got a warranty refurb V20 recently and it keeps turning location services off. Yes, off, not on (as apparently Google thinks I'm searching for that instead. Lol). I double checked to make sure battery optimization is off, and I also have Verizon's health check disabled. Any other suggestions on where to check? I doubt it's a gps sensor issue, as I typically have it set to battery saving mode using networks only. When I do run gps for Maps, it works fine.