New to rooting, have questions first

TBolt55

Jun 9, 2011
Visit site
Hello all, Im new to rooting and the idea greatly intrigues me seeing as it brings many benefits. I contemplated root way back in March when the phone came out but it was still too far over my head to understand so I waited. It seems now that easier methods have come out and with a little bit of research the revolutionary method that does not wipe your data seems easy enough for me to handle, plus there's a great video of how to do it on youtube. Some of the questions Im wondering though are the following:

1. How much greatly can this improve my battery life? This was the initial reason I wanted to root back in March but I gave it time and it improved, but lately it has taken a turn back in the wrong direction and with no reason that I can find why to explain it. (I've rebooted and used system panel etc, but still cant find anything out of the ordinary, it's just when I take it off wifi the battery seems to tank lately with only moderate use and with a long schedule starting ahead of me I know I'll need all the juice I can get)

2. How easy is it to remove the bloat? This is one thing I'm looking forward to, I want the crapware especially blockbuster gone

3. Is the rumor I heard true that after the gingerbread update the phone will no longer be rootable?

4. If the above rumor is not true should I just wait for official GB and than root?

5. What initial steps if any do I need to take before rooting, do I need titanium backup or anything or will the revolutionary method take care of this for me?

6. Do any of the roms choices leave the sense theme, I enjoy the sense experience and would like to keep it.

7. Any suggestions on good battery kernels rom combos ect. would be greatly appreciated

I thank anyone that helps with answers and can offer any good guidance.

paintdrinkingpete

Dec 12, 2009
Visit site