Newb having difficulty with new phone. Moto G6 Plus won't let me transfer data to SD Card.

thontz

Jul 20, 2018
Visit site
I'm new to Android. Bought a Moto G5 Plus and love it except it's too small. When I was using the Moto G5 Plus, I bought a 128GB micro SD card and used it as INTERNAL storage. Today my new phone arrived, the Moto G6 Plus. When I inserted the 128 SD card in it, it said the data was corrupt and needed to be formatted. This phone did not ask me if I wanted the card to be formatted as internal or portable. It would only format to PORTABLE. Then it asked me what to click to have saved on it. Its a new phone and had only 1 picture and no other types of files. So, it offered three different types of files but I could only put a check mark on pictures because I have no other music files or other files. I did my research and found out that the Moto G6 and G6 Play can format the card as internal but the G6 Plus does NOT allow for that, and I'm furious about that! To make matters worse, I cannot get back to the screen that lets me select what kind of files I want to put on the SD card. I want to select music and pictures but that is not an option right now. I go to settings - storage - and I press on the "Portable SD Card" and then press on "storage settings. I have only two choices. FORMAT and EJECT. No "Move Data" or "Migrate Data" or anything else like that. How do I move the now 9GB of music that I put on the phone to my seemingly worthless, "portable" (not by choice) SD storage? Shouldn't it be a simple option to tell the phone to store my pictures and music on the SD card? There is no screen to be found where I can put a simple checkmark in the box to have pictures and music be stored on the SD card. Also, since this phone does not support "internal storage" for the SD card as an option, can you guys recommend an affordable phone to me that DOES allow for the use of "internal storage" of an SD Card? I really like the phone, but that was a jerk move