sms workaround

mapleleaf14#AC

Nov 14, 2009
Visit site
So I am using Handcent SMS right now ( after trying Chomp ) until Sprint releases the update to hopefully fix the "phone awake 100%" issue that the stock messaging app causes.

Whenever I receive a text message now though, Sprint Navigation, Messaging, and voicemail show up in my task list. If I kill them, they will re-activate when I get another message. I don't think it does it when I send a text, only upon receiving one.

My question is should I worry about it or not?!?

I am fairly new to this (toyed with a Touch Pro for a bit and came to Hero from a BB Curve). I thought I read somewhere here to not necessarily worry about what was in the task list - didn't necessarily mean the app was actively running or something?

Using handcent has taken care of the awake issue as I have gone from 99% to usually around 15%.

Also, do we have an estimate of when the sprint update/fix is coming (and will it even address this issue?)

Thanks in advance for any info, knowledge, tips, and advice!!

spatel9114

Oct 23, 2009
Visit site
Hmm... well you can turn off the Message notification by going to the settings of the stock messaging app and turning off all notifications, but as for navigation and voicemail..I've never heard this problem before, idk what you can do for that. Try going to your voicemail settings and navigation settings and turning off notifications for those as well, however, this could cause problems because this would disable all notifications for voicemail so you would never know if you got a new voicemail or not...just gotta keep checking it I guess..

rinkratcaptain14

Nov 17, 2009
Visit site
I am the OP...for some reason my "mapleleaf 14" account is blocked or something.