Please Help - Rooting Issues - Goal ICS

knaras

Mar 28, 2011
Visit site
Hi Yall,

I'm a relative newbie, but definitely tech savy and can follow instructions well. I'm running a Verizon OTA updated phone running Froyo 2.3.5 Here's my goal "Get the latest and cleanest version of ICS on my Fascinate."

So here is where I'm at now, so I was able to get the "SuperUser" icon in the app drawer using Post 4 from (http://forums.androidcentral.com/ve...-please-read-post-1-before-posting-forum.html), but it looks like I'm not rooted. I know this because I downloaded and paid for the Pro version of Titanium Backup. However, every time I open up Titanium it says that I don't have Root Access.

There does not seem to be a "su" file in the SD Card or a "busybox" file, which is what I think the problem is. I did this as well http://www.androidcentral.com/is-my-phone-rooted and found out my phone was technically not rooted.

So then I tried another method and followed this video How to Root the Samsung Fascinate (Verizon) in 2 minutes - YouTube.

This changed my interface on the phone a little bit (I have been using Launcher Pro, my setting have changed,a home screen button, which I dont know how to remove is in my app drawer), but still no root access as I check root access through Connectbot again.

Then I went back and followed the exact instructions on Post 4 using ADB, but when I get to the second "adb devices" after the "./rage.bin" the device can't be found.

I'm going on several hours on just trying to root and I know I havent even scratched the surface of figuring out how to flash ICS to the phone. I'm getting a little discouraged since everyone seems to say that rooting is simple and easy so any help, guidance and encouragement would be greatly appreciated.

I wanted to try Post 5, but http://adrynalyne.us/files/odin/su-2...usybox1.19.zip seems to be broken, so if someone could update this that would be greatly appreciated as well.