possible new fascinate owner, some questions

sdmf

Nov 23, 2010
Visit site
Hey guys, 1st post here. Anyways, I have an opportunity to get in another month or so a GREAT plan with TELUS (in canada). Im currently running a JB'd iphone 3G on Rogers and I'm sick of being "this close" to tossing the phone out on the highway due to dropped calls, OS slowness, freezes etc.

Anyways, I was looking through my options for TELUS smartphone and the Galaxy S Fascinate appears to be the only decent one.

Now for some questions...(ps sorry I havent dug through this site too much, but definitely will....as I've never used android before).

- "Verizon Fascinate" (US) ..."Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate" (can)..Im assuming this are the exact same phones?
- I see the phone can be rooted, is that essentially the same thing as jailbreak?
- Im sure the fascinate is MUCH faster than the iphone 3g, but how does it compare to the 4G? I hope its actually even better than that too :p ;)

can someone give me some additional thoughts/pros cons of this phone coming from an iphone 3g? I really want to get into android, but dont want to regret it. I know that is hard to predict, but ... maybe there are some people here who would say something like "dude, DO IT NOW, Its way better than an Iphone because you can do this, this and this"...lol

Anyways, Im off now to read more threads on this site. Thanks in advance.

Sta11i0n

Oct 22, 2010
Visit site
1.) "Fascinate" is just Verizon's name for their version of the Galaxy S phone. You won't see "Fascinate" labeled anywhere on it, but the battery cover has the Galaxy logo. Just like the "Mesmerize" from US Cell, the "Vibrant" from T-Mobile and so on...

2.) Yes. Jailbreaking is the same as rooting. The apple community just gave it a nickname.

3.) I have not handled a 4g iPhone yet, but looking at the specs between the 2 they seem fairly comparable.