Newbie Alert!! VZW S3 for Straight Talk - Will it work?

mtn-bike

Jan 11, 2015
Visit site
Hey All,
I'm new to Smartphones and wanted to experiment without getting into too much trouble. I have a Galaxy S3 (VZW) and plan to use it on Straight Talk, will this work? Is there anything that I need to do to the phone to get the most out of it? Thanks in advance.

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to the forums. I think the first question should be is did you unlock the device to be taken to other carriers?

dpham00

Moderator Team VP
Apr 23, 2011
Visit site
If you have the latest update then it would be unlocked. It will work on straight talk , but should you choose tmobile, you will only get 2g.

Sent from my Verizon Samsung Galaxy Note 4

mtn-bike

Jan 11, 2015
Visit site
'Choose' TMobile? I thought I would be using Straight Talk....my question initially was targeted towards which towers I would be using (VZW has the best coverage in my area) so that I could be sure I would have good coverage. I need some more explanation I guess.....

I considered myself a half way intelligent person until I began researching this topic........the more I read, the more confused I get.

srkmagnus

Retired Moderator
May 23, 2010
Visit site
'Choose' TMobile? I thought I would be using Straight Talk....my question initially was targeted towards which towers I would be using (VZW has the best coverage in my area) so that I could be sure I would have good coverage. I need some more explanation I guess.....

I considered myself a half way intelligent person until I began researching this topic........the more I read, the more confused I get.