Unusually dead in 6 hours

Maddog241

Mar 20, 2011
Visit site
Hello everyone. I am still new to the Android experience, and the TB is my first Droid phone. I have followed many of the tips I have read about here and my battery life isn't all that bad. I have had no problem getting through a normal day. Typically I charge the TB before I go to sleep at night and it lasts me through the following day. It drops 10-20% overnight.

Last night I did the usual cycle, but something caused it to drain completely in about 5 hours and my alarm didn't go off this morning since it was dead. This is the first time I have had any kind of issue like this and I don't know where to look for a solution...The TB charged this morning and has been steady all day with no big drain.

Anyone have an issue like this out of the blue?

mc21

May 8, 2010
Visit site
i had a few random times where my battery would drain excessively for no reason. no apps running in the background besides the norm. only thing i could guess was something signal related. also you way want to leave wifi on when at your apartment. this would prevent it from toggling between 3g and 4g constantly. this would help battery if that was the cause.

paintdrinkingpete

Dec 12, 2009
Visit site
Could be a number of things, but off the top of my head the 2 most likely candidates are:

1. An app was running and/or updating, causing higher drain on the battery

2. The network signal strength was weak

Did you install any new apps that may be running in the background, or forget to close one after you used it? For example, I recently downloaded the MLB app for score updates...without realizing it updated constantly in the background and quickly ate my battery...so I uninstalled it.