Chrome icon missing - app still installed, enabled

travelerrob

Aug 26, 2016
Visit site
I'm brand new to Android (have an iPhone for years, still do).

I tried to move the Google Chrome icon from the "Google" folder that my phone has installed by default. I accidentally put it on top of another icon so that created a new folder. I went into that folder, tried to move it again and this time it came out of the folder, my screen turned off and now the Chrome icon is gone. I cannot find it anywhere.

I see it listed in Apps. It's enabled.

I have uninstalled and re-installed the app. I can launch it from the Google Play store and it works but I cannot find, nor can I re-create, the app icon on any screen.

I need this back as I do a lot of web browsing. Any ideas?

I have a brand new Neffos C5L (TP-Link phone).

Thank you. It's running Android 5.1

travelerrob

Aug 26, 2016
Visit site
Sorry, I have no idea what the "app drawer" is.

I can see what apps I have installed in one of two ways:
1. Go to Settings | Apps and from there I can see what's running, installed, downloaded, etc. Chrome *does* appear in this list of apps. But my only options from this list are "force close" and "disable".
2. Go to Google Play and it will show me what apps I have downloaded. From here I can "uninstall" or "open" the app. This is the only way I have of opening the app right now.

There are no other ways to see what apps I have installed.

Thanks,
Rob

Javier P

Ambassador
Feb 21, 2014
Visit site
Hello Rob, welcome to the forums. I've never used that particular device, but in general you can open the app drawer with the icon at the middle of the bottom row (circle with 6 dots). Once opened search for any app that you want to add to your home screen, long press on it and drag it to the screen.

travelerrob

Aug 26, 2016
Visit site