Can't shut off airplane mode in the morning...

lullemans72

Feb 23, 2014
Visit site
Hello everyone. This is my first time posting here, so I do hope I'm posting in the right section...If not, please let me know.

Before I start off with my main problem, here is some information about my current phone which might be useful:
I currently reside in Japan, where I recently switched phone companies, and with that, got myself a brand new LG22, a model which came out in the winter of 2013 (as opposed to an older model with android 2.3 I'd been using for about a year). Still quite new in other words. Currently, it seems to be running android 4.2.2.

Anyway, I've had the device for a little over a week now, and I've been noticing that EVERY morning when I wake up, there is no radio signal, and no 3G signal either.
I remember with my previous phone that the radio signal/3G would sometimes vanish for no reason, but as soon as I tried dialing a number, the radio signal came back, so it was no big deal. With my new phone, however, I also tried calling a number on my phone, but then a pop up shows up that says "to place a call, first turn off airplane mode".

I don't remember ever having turned on airplane mode in the first place, so I figure the phone must somehow have done it automatically when I went to sleep and didn't use my phone for a while. But when I actually go to the drop down toggle menu and press the airplane mode button (which is lit up in blue, but not in motion), it then says "airplane mode is ON. You will not be able to make or receive calls when in airplane mode". Huh? I thought airplane mode was already turned on? After pressing the airplane mode button, it is now flashing blue on and off while the little airplane logo moves from left to right. When I check the settings, airplane mode is indeed turned on.

The problem is that even as I try to turn OFF airplane mode, I still can't get any radio signal, nor 3G/LTE to work.