Moto G: Proximity Sensor - Can someone confirm?

shmotog

Dec 30, 2013
Visit site
Bear with me while I explain my query, this is my first time here :)

When I first got the phone, for the first initial hour or two, I couldve sworn that as soon as my finger hit the proximity sensor located next to the speaker up top, the screen went blank. It came back on as soon as I removed my finger from the proximity sensor.

Now it only does this when I'm in a skype call, or a normal phone call.

Was it something I just imagined?

Could someone confirm if you touch your proximity sensor in normal cirumstances (i.e not in a call, say when just browsing the web), does the screen go off (black)?

Thank you :)

Last edited by a moderator:

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Re: Proximity Sensor - Can someone confirm?

Welcome to Android Central! Was the screen going completely black, or was it just dimming a lot? If you blocked the ambient light sensor and if your phone was set to Automatic Brightness, it might have thought it was suddenly dark in the room, and then dimmed the screen to minimum in response.

shmotog

Dec 30, 2013
Visit site

Welcome to Android Central! Was the screen going completely black, or was it just dimming a lot? If you blocked the ambient light sensor and if your phone was set to Automatic Brightness, it might have thought it was suddenly dark in the room, and then dimmed the screen to minimum in response.

Completely black. As it does when i block sensor if i'm in a phone call.

Do you have a moto G? If so can you just quickly block the proximity sensor (next to speaker up top in front top right), and do it while you're in a normal mode such as in chrome or just main screen. Can you do it and tell me if yours does it?

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site

Sorry, I don't have a G. Hopefully someone else on this forum can test it out for you.

flipponater

Sep 10, 2013
Visit site