Seeking your opinions of choosing a wood back for new Moto X

Apple2Droid

Dec 7, 2014
Visit site
I've lurked here at Android Central for the last 2 months as I contemplated coming back into the Android fold (former HTC EVO owner)–from my brief foray into the Apple orchard. But I just joined so that I can ask your advice on whether to choose a wooden back, given all the issues that many of you have had.

I know some of you who first ordered X's with wooden backs, who've had problems with them, and have returned them and opted for plastic instead. And I'm hoping that there are many of you who've had no problems at all.

I wasn't even interested in wood until I read through the thread where you all posted pics of your phones. Um, yeah, they look pretty awesome.

I'm a personal trainer and I am on my phone periodically at the gym, checking for messages from clients. So I tend to wipe down my phone with alcohol––you know, wiping away sweaty gym germs, but also as a way to not pass colds or other things from client to client. Because of that I'm always Purelling as well.

So this makes a wooden back seem impractical since I can't be wiping down the wood with alcohol. But if I go with a case like the Case Mate Tough Naked case or the Supcase Unicorn Beetle, the all clear one. But given all of the issues that I've read about here I'm wondering if I should just go for the plastic and forego the beautiful wood.

Can you guys give me your feedback on this? And for those of you that bought wood but had issues with it and had it replaced, would you do it again, knowing what you know now?

Many thanks!

The newbie . . .

P.S. What's a "sticky thread"?

gothand

Nov 19, 2014
Visit site
Cant speak to the longevity or wiping down with alcohol, but I got the walnut back and I think it looks really sharp. I think its worth a shot. Moro's warranty service see!s to be pretty good, so why not give it a shot?

Citizen Coyote

Jul 9, 2011
Visit site