Is it even worth rooting before gingerbread?

King Neptune117

Jul 27, 2010
Visit site
Ok, so lets say I root my phone right now. Am I still able to download updates OTA while im rooted. If I can, does it get rid of my root?

Also, If I choose to root, is it ok to do the one click root (z4root), or is that not very full proof? Also, once I root, how can I confirm that I am rooted?

One im for sure rooted, I would like to customize my device A LOT. I see some people with some crazy themes and stuff on theires. How do I get those and how do I take advantage of my root? Im a noob to this.

Thanks.

EDIT: also, what are ROMS? What do they do? Im guessing I can only use them once im rooted right?

Last edited:

racinwarrior

Jul 27, 2010
Visit site
Ok, so lets say I root my phone right now. Am I still able to download updates OTA while im rooted. YES If I can, does it get rid of my root? Sometimes yes it does, sometimes it doesnt

Also, If I choose to root, is it ok to do the one click root (z4root), or is that not very full proof? Z4 is a great tool Also, once I root, how can I confirm that I am rooted? you will have a superuser icon in your app list

One im for sure rooted, I would like to customize my device A LOT. I see some people with some crazy themes and stuff on theires. How do I get those download from many different sites and how do I take advantage of my root? delete bloatware, overclock, undervolt, wifi tether for free, take screenshots, etc, etcIm a noob to this.

Thanks.

EDIT: also, what are ROMS? custom operating systems made by developers using android open source codeWhat do they do? mostly aim to improve performance Im guessing I can only use them once im rooted right? yes

King Neptune117

Jul 27, 2010
Visit site
Thanks dude very helpful. One more question, once I download a theme how do I apply it?

EDIT I rooted my phone using z4root. I go into settings - applications - click on amazon mp3 and the uninstall button is still blacked out. What gives?