VVM Issue and losing 3G

MBM7881

Feb 4, 2011
Visit site
hello everyone. i'm new to android and of course these forums. i got the samsung epic a few days ago (i'm still in my 30 return window if anything). since i got it i've been losing the 3G every now and then. when i tried downloading apps from the market i kept getting a network connection error even though all my reception bars were full. finally got all my apps downloaded when i came home and connected the phone to my wireless router and used the wifi connection. then i received a mandatory update to the vvm and when i tried to download it i kept getting an error stating that the update couldn't happen then a button to retry to download it. i left it alone and it finally download but then i had an issue with the vvm. it keeps saying that the activation email will be sent when data becomes available. after a while I was finally able to get the vvm to work and install so all is well there. but does anyone have any ideas as to the losing 3G? I've had to either turn off the phone and turn it back on or do the profile/prl update to get the 3G to come back (sprint told me to do this). When the 3G disappears i get "no network connection" errors or that i dont have internet access. Any help is greatly appreciated :)

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
If this has happened since the day you got it in complete untouched stock form I would either say you have a spotty signal coverage in your area. But you claim you have had full bars when this has happened so it is almost looking like a possible hardware (3g/4g radio) issue.

Seems like Sprint's favorite response to anything concerning signal coverage is to update the prl/profile. Doesn't ever seem to solve the problem.