Please help to root and flash Cyanogenmod

Tiger

May 9, 2010
Visit site
I'm new to Android and recently purchased a Nexus S 4G. Today, I tried to root and flash Cyanogenmod to my phone. I succeeded in unlocking my bootloader but after some confusion my phone is now stuck at the Google logo screen with an open padlock at the bottom. It wont go past this no matter what. I am now without a phone. :(

I used the following guide:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=878446

I started having trouble at the "Tap on the gray box that says "Mount R/W"" step. Could not find it.

http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/index.php?title=Nexus_S:_Full_Update_Guide

Also, In my attempt to fix it I hit "wipe data/ factory reset" along with "wipe cache partition"

Last edited:

2CupsWithString

passionately curious
Jun 1, 2010
Visit site
You will be OK.

Do you have CM downloaded to your sdcard already? And did you get past the flash recovery step?

If so:

Turn the phone off, pull the battery if you have to.

Press volume up and power at the same time.

Choose Recovery from the bootloader screen

In recovery wipe the cache partition then go to Advanced and wipe dalvik.

Go back to main recovery menu and choose to install zip from sdcard, navigate to the cyanogen mod zip file and select it.

Hope that helps!

Tiger

May 9, 2010
Visit site
Thank you for the response, but unfortunately it did not work. I think I also wiped the sd card while trying to fix it on my own. I can still get into fastboot mode, with an unlocked bootloader, but I can't get past the bootlogo. I also don't think I can mount it on my computer. I am so sad, please tell me I'm not screwed...

2CupsWithString

passionately curious
Jun 1, 2010
Visit site