Auto correct/predictive text always wants to put in an obscure email address instead of a word..how can I stop this?

captnpenguin

Feb 17, 2016
Visit site
auto correct/predictive text always wants to put in an obscure email address instead of a word...

I'll start off with saying I'm still very new to android so if this is an easy fix that I should know about my apologies. I've noticed that when I start typing text for anything it often times wants to predict an email address from my gmail account. The real crazy thing is that most of the time it is an email that was utilized for 1, maybe 2 emails from over 5 years ago. Is there a way to disable this? I'm afraid that one day I'll accidentally send someone a message that contains a "random" persons email instead of a word that I wanted. It's starting to get really annoying/frustrating...

nedenlinger

Mar 15, 2016
Visit site
Re: auto correct/predictive text always wants to put in an obscure email address instead of a word..

you can disable by
Taping on any text field, such as a search box, e-mail body, or a browser address bar to summon the keyboard.
and Tap the gear in the bottom left of the keyboard, beside the Sym button.
lastly Tap Predictive text to turn it off and on.

captnpenguin

Feb 17, 2016
Visit site
Re: auto correct/predictive text always wants to put in an obscure email address instead of a word..

I don't have the gear next to my sym button. If I disable predictive doesn't that disable all and not just the stupid emails?

sydneycooper1979

Moderator Sergeant at Arms
Jan 17, 2012
Visit site

When the email pops up in the autocorrect, long press and it will give you the option to remove it from autocorrect

i108

Apr 4, 2016
Visit site
Looks like no one has given a sufficient response yet.

I am having this same problem.