Comparing battery life of Motorola Z Play to Samsung GS7 Edge or Active

Apple2Droid

Dec 7, 2014
Visit site
I was somewhat active here 3 years ago when I was switching from an iPhone 5 to a Moto X2, but I haven't been back much since. But now I need some information and advice. –Sorry I've been gone for so long . . .

My Moto X2 is dying a repeated daily death (think Groundhog Day if it were a battery and notifications) since my last firmware update (v 5.1). I work as a massage therapist so since I'm not on my phone while working I've recently resorted to turning airplane mode on during the day when I'm with clients. You would think that when I turn it off at the end of my day, I would have plenty of battery to get me through the evening and the next morning. But you would be wrong. Since the last update, my battery life after my all day airplane mode, tends to be anywhere from 3-6 hours at best. The phone is so unusable that I bought not one, but two, portable battery packs for a recent trip, because that was the only way I knew I wouldn't be stranded. The phone will also frequently send notification sounds every 20-60 seconds–when there's not actual notification. This only happens 30% of the time but it's so annoying that I resort to locking it into another room. –I know, I know, I'm such a bad phone mom . . .

My screen has also been cracked for a year and a half so now I'm shopping again.

If I could get a good deal on an unlocked Moto Z Play (1st gen), I would snap it up, primarily because of the battery, which shouldn't be a surprise. But I can't find a new one for less than $400, which seems way overpriced to me at this point in the phone's lifetime.