New to Android, how to sync and handle email?

louiswho

Dec 6, 2016
Visit site
Changing from Apple 4S to Samsung Galaxy 7 Edge (picked it up, and activated it today). On my Window 10 desktop, I have Microsoft Outlook 2010, that I use to get my email from Comcast. On the 4s, I only got the mail when I checked for it (no Automatic downloads from the Comcast email...and that is how I want to continue). Using iTunes, I was able to synch between the desktop and the 4s. My background is Windows...not Apple, and I am learning Android as I go. Actually, I am playing with Visual Studio and Xamarin forms, and now will have a platform to test on.

At the Verizon store, they activated the phone, and were able to bring over the contacts to the Edge, but they said that they could not get the photos and the calendar appointments. There are not a lot of appointments, so I guess that recreating them can be done, just tedious. Their recommendation on the photos was to copy them from the 4s (using iTunes sync), to the desktop, and then download from the desktop to the Edge. Looking beyond this (once everything is copied to the Edge)...

I see that there is 'Nine - Outlook for Android', but I am not clear on what it's use is (yes, obviously, it is an app that can be downloaded and install on the Edge). Is it used in conjunction with the desktop MS Outlook, and can sync back and forth? Is there a Windows version to be installed on the desktop, and they can be synched together?

I am not a fan of letting Putin see all my information in the cloud :), so storing on the cloud is not something that I prefer to do...am I going to be required to do so, in order to keep things synched? Instead of the Nine product, should I be considering Samsung, Version, etc., products, for my email and synching?

I recognize that most probably, I am not the first to ask these questions, and will generally take directions as to 'where to go', :).

TenshiNo

Aug 2, 2010
Visit site