Samsung Galaxy S9+ firmware update help

brnvs

Sep 12, 2022
Visit site
I have Samsung S9+ Model SM-G965U CSC is VZW. Running Android 10.0, with current firmware at G965USQS8FTK4. I had a few issues so was interested in updating the firmware using Odin, but kept getting errors, or it would just stop at either the connection setup or initialization stage. I had the phone in download mode with USB debug on, so checked those off the list.

I read in another forum that you can't update the firmware past the current binary version- in mine listed above, it would be binary 8. I have been trying to update to what i believe is the latest firmware for this phone which is G965USQU9FVB2, so is it as simple as being unable to upgrade past the "8" version of the firmware?

I've used Odin a few times in the past successfully with other phones, but i'm by no means an expert. Appreciate any help or confirmation.

mustang7757

Super Moderator
Feb 6, 2017
Visit site
Welcome to AC!
You can update to version higher then yours thats considered a update but usually cant below .

Are you using latest version of Odin?
Where did you get the firmware from?
I suggest downloading Frija firmware tool from xda forums the latest version then put your model number and csc code VZW then hit search that would be latest version for your phone then download it to your computer

brnvs

Sep 12, 2022
Visit site
Thanks for the reply Mustang.