Should I buy a Galaxy Note 4 or 5

A

AC Question

Hi, I'm new to Android phones. I'm looking at the Note 4 or 5. I want to be able to use it as a journalist on the road. So, if I can plug in a keyboard and mouse and keep it charged, those are my main concerns. I read that the 4 doesn't have support any more. That worries me because, I'm not totally sure what that means. It looks like it will work with all the apps I currently use on my iphone. Is the 5 greatly improved over the 4? I see you can't use the USB for much and the memory card and battery are inaccessible. As a general rule I try to buy as new as I can afford. It seems like the 5 has less going for it but if the 4 is going to be archived in a museum soon that won't work in the long run either.

JimmieCD

Sep 26, 2015
Visit site
I have a Note 4. Had it 2 yrs, no problems. Takes great pictures, expandable memory, removeable battery. Use it as hotspot for my latop when no wireless, print documents using Google cloud print. Send more than 1000 texts/month, use Android Pay, connects by bluetooth to my car, and occasionally I use it as a phone. It just keeps going, I even have a brand new one waiting for the day this one dies. Only problem I've had was a SD memory card that had to be replaced. I'd say go with the Note 4.

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
Two problems (I have a Note 3, and the additional "features" in the 4 didn't pay to spend money on). The 5 doesn't have an SD card slot, so you're limited to storing internally (32GB), and the battery is non-removable, so when it goes (and all batteries eventually go), you have to pay a repair shop to replace it. Which is why I'm waiting for the next one to come out. That's problem 1.