SMS Backup + stopped working.

nuraman00

Jul 29, 2015
Visit site
I have two apps that I use to backup my SMS messages.

One is SMS Backup +.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.zegoggles.smssync&hl=en_US&gl=US

I've been using it since January 2016.

2 days ago, it stopped backing up.

If I view the logs, it says authentication failed.

I have tried re-entering my password for my email within the app, but it didn't help.

I haven't changed my password for my email in a few months anyways.

I am connecting to an AOL account.

This site says the IMAP server is export.imap.aol.com:

https://www.realmailfix.com/blog/configure-aol-email-settings-using-imap-smtp-server/

This site says the IMAP server is imap.aol.com:

https://help.aol.com/articles/how-do-i-use-other-email-applications-to-send-and-receive-my-aol-mail

I have been using export.imap.aol.com for several years.

I did try the other one, imap.aol.com, but I get the same authentication error.

Any ideas?

I am using one more app to backup my SMS messages, SMS Backup And Restore:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.riteshsahu.SMSBackupRestore&hl=en_US&gl=US

This one backups them up to my Google Drive.

But I like having both apps, as a safeguard.

There was one time 1 - 2 years ago where SMS Backup + also stopped working, for several days. It eventually started working on its own again.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
I think the best approach would be to contact the developer of those apps and see if they're aware of any problems. It could be related to how old your phone is.

Kizzy Catwoman

Ambassador
Feb 2, 2017
Visit site
AOL has been requiring people to use a login screen from them to login. So you need to use an email app that gives the pop up authentication window. That could be the issue.

nuraman00

Jul 29, 2015
Visit site