Thoughts and Experiences with the Nook from a ROM'ers point of view

digitalslacker

Jul 6, 2010
Visit site
So I picked my Nook Color 2 days ago and have had some time to play around with all the various rom options out there so I wanted to share some of my initial thoughts and experiences with the device.

I'm a pretty experienced ROM'er. I won't call myself an Android developer and most of these cool things the devs do I don't completely understand. That being said I have had a lot of experience working with the Droid X, HTC Eris, Viewsonic gTab and now the Nook Color.

First off let me say that out of all of the devices I have used the dev community that is springing up around the Nook Color is awesome. Stuff is changing daily, well literally nightly if you are using the CM7 Nightly builds. I also think it's awesome that B&N made the Nook almost un-brickable. The fact that it's got SD card boot priority means that in most cases, no matter how badly your screw things up you can just pop in a SD card with a recovery image and be back to stock. Trust me, I had to do it 3 times yesterday.

The design of the Nook is nice, form factor is great. Even the box is comes in is cool, not that that really matters but it does illustrate that B&N was going for quality. My gTab's box almost fell apart when I opened it. The weight and size is perfect for a tablet. Jerry said it before on a podcast episode, 10in tablet for two handed use, 7in tablet for one handed use. I couldn't agree more now having used both but I do wish he shared that tidbit of info before i got my gTAb :D

With the Nook there are 2 unique options when it comes to installing custom Roms, eMMC or internal memory or the SDcard.
I struggled with the pros and cons regarding which is better and finally settled on, it depends...