just a new user trying too learn cool stuff to do with my new phone in root...

Apr 28, 2011
Visit site
main reason for rooting is to teather. i have a samsung facinate and im sure that there are alot of other cool stuff i can do....let me know im a newbie tech tech junkie

adammcgovern

Apr 20, 2011
Visit site
How about getting rid of all the bloat? I'm not rooted and have the "other" stuff filed but i would like to get rid of it
Also, adding certain apps that you can't get otherwise, i.e screenshots. I also see a lot of people getting better battery and speed by under/over clocking. Really, I don't feel like keeping someone up past two in the morning because I jacked my phone up. I need to feel real comfortable about something before i dive into it.

Last edited:

SEAKevin

Jan 13, 2011
Visit site
How about getting rid of all the bloat? I'm not rooted and have the "other" stuff filed but i would like to get rid of it
Also, adding certain apps that you can't get otherwise, i.e screenshots. I also see a lot of people getting better battery and speed by under/over clocking. Really, I don't feel like keeping someone up past two in the morning because I jacked my phone up. I need to feel real comfortable about something before i dive into it.
I was a complete novice about 6 weeks ago and I didn't even want to root my phone because I was afraid I'd screw it up. Then finally I rooted it so I could install Froyo before the offical Verizon update. The rooting itself is really simple if you follow the instructions, and you'll only have to do it once. I also recommend initially sticking to the ODIN method for installing new stuff on your phone. Stay away initially from things like "flash using CWM", "Voodoo", themes, and separate ROMS & Kernels.