Is it just me ...?

Phil Nickinson

Android Central Editor Emeritus
Apr 21, 2009
Visit site
I'm no coder, and I went through the tutorials, but dammit, App Inventor makes my head hurt. Probably just me, though. :p

Prof-KOS

May 22, 2010
Visit site
If you spend the time to go through the sample apps, they take you through a lot of the capabilities and explain a lot of the Block Editor. I've actually been working on an app for the company I work for, but there are a few things I'm having trouble with.

Try the samples though. The Block Editor is pretty logical, but you have to do a few to really get it.

Prof-KOS

May 22, 2010
Visit site
Exactly. I was able to construct a pretty functional calculator to compare the power savings between electric motors of different efficiencies. I was able to craft a pretty complex equation in the Block Editor and some nifty little interactions based on the inputted data. It only took a few hours of learning to get that far. It's not overly complicated, it's just different from what you're used to.

Jerry Hildenbrand

Space Cowboy
Staff member
Oct 11, 2009
Visit site
Exactly. I was able to construct a pretty functional calculator to compare the power savings between electric motors of different efficiencies. I was able to craft a pretty complex equation in the Block Editor and some nifty little interactions based on the inputted data. It only took a few hours of learning to get that far. It's not overly complicated, it's just different from what you're used to.
^^ this. Especially if you're familiar with any other (OO) programming logic. the block editor logic is really straightforward and ez to understand, but you have to think the right way.

I had to teach myself not to overthink it and then things started to go a bit smoother

Faulk_Wulf

May 16, 2010
Visit site
I know HTML, the fundamentals of Java Script and C++.
I've done some coding and scripting in Arma II as well.