Returnd to Old Stock, unrootd, got OTA EP4 - want to root/debloat

sabbyATL

Dec 7, 2011
Visit site
Hi All,

I have the Samsung Droid Charge, bought in July. I rooted it early on.

I heard the new EP4 was coming OTA but that my phone wouldn't get it so long as I was rooted and on the leaked EP4. (I am thinking it was fine that I was rooted, just that it wasn't fine that I didn't have stock).

So, I went back to how it came out of the box - unrooted with stock.

Sure enough, as soon as I did that I got the system update and now have EP4 (2.3.6).

I would like to root now and debloat the phone of all the crap apps, also disable the boot animation (I know how to do that, just need to be rooted). Of course the wireless tethering is something I want back.

So, here's the deal. I'm a statistician for a living so I have computer chops of someone who like that. Which means more than most but not like you folks. Enough so that I don't need to be completely hand fed, just pointed in various proper directions.

I did do searches of this forum, xda, and others and found a lot of good info but I couldn't get anything to work. So, I know the error is with me.

I need to know how to root the phone and retain the stock.

I need to be pointed in the direction of debloating.

Thanks in advance and if I've missed some obvious post, I apologize.

Best,

Sabby

sabbyATL

Dec 7, 2011
Visit site
Re: Returnd to Old Stock, unrootd, got OTA EP4 - want to root/deb

Will no one help me?

Just a link on how to root without flashing a ROM?

:'(

Does it help at all that I'm female?*

* Desperate girl gets desperate

cmarks03

Feb 7, 2011
Visit site

I just flashed stock EP4 to my charge courtesy of the good folks at XDA, an unfortunate side-effect of which is me needing to restore my stuff from Titanium Backup. I found the following thread:

http://forums.androidcentral.com/dr...-stock-gingerbread-want-root.html#post1442609