How to update my AT&T Galaxy S4 after moving abroad and cancelling AT&T Account

lfnovo

Feb 17, 2014
Visit site
Hi everybody,

I purchased a Galaxy S4 phone while I was an AT&T customer. After then, I moved out to Brazil and unlocked my phone (IMEI unlock). Now that 4.3 has been rolled out to Galaxy S4, I have an issue. I can't update my phone. When I check for updates under system settings, it tells me that there is no update available. I am sure AT&T doesn't want me to update the phone now that I am in a different country and I am not from their customer base anymore. How I can get rid of this crappy relationship and update my phone for good? I am not experienced in rooting or anything like that, but willing to do whatever it takes. Can someone just point me to the right directions? Also, how do I update the phone without losing important data?

Really appreciate it.

Boris Almishev

Jan 19, 2014
Visit site
Hi everybody,

I purchased a Galaxy S4 phone while I was an AT&T customer. After then, I moved out to Brazil and unlocked my phone (IMEI unlock). Now that 4.3 has been rolled out to Galaxy S4, I have an issue. I can't update my phone. When I check for updates under system settings, it tells me that there is no update available. I am sure AT&T doesn't want me to update the phone now that I am in a different country and I am not from their customer base anymore. How I can get rid of this crappy relationship and update my phone for good? I am not experienced in rooting or anything like that, but willing to do whatever it takes. Can someone just point me to the right directions? Also, how do I update the phone without losing important data?

Really appreciate it.

Boris Almishev

Jan 19, 2014
Visit site
AT&T pulled back the 4.3 update because it is bug ridden. If you wait a few days, the 4.4 KitKat will hit you. There is a leaked 4.4 for the AT&T, but it has a video codec bug which makes the phone virtually unable to play videos, as well as other unstable things.