System Requirements for ROM Development?

TrikkJames

Feb 10, 2014
Visit site
I'm just gonna go out and say it. When it comes to ROM development, I'm a complete noob. However I learn extremely fast, and once I learn, I make amazing things.

I love Android. I love Android hacking. I love the utilization of custom ROMs. And now, I want to love ROM development.

But maybe my computer can't do it? Not sure. It's an Acer Aspire 5000 from 2006 currently running Windows 7 Ultimate and I keep it in safe mode to run faster. It has 512mb RAM I believe.

What are the system requirements of developing a ROM?

zkSharks

Retired Moderator
Mar 15, 2011
Visit site
There's a basic system requirements list over at the Android Developers site's SDK Tools section. I'm not aware of any listed system requirements for Android Studio, but they may be out there. You're probably going to have a hard time working within that 512MB memory constraint, though. Android Studio is currently sitting at around 1.2GB with two moderately-sized projects open, though I don't have Eclipse installed on this machine to compare to.

I would be looking for 10-20GB of free drive space for a "comfortable" Android developer tools installation, to allow for large projects, additional libraries, etc. My installation is right at 10GB now.

Last edited:

TrikkJames

Feb 10, 2014
Visit site
There's a basic system requirements list over at the Android Developers site's SDK Tools section. I'm not aware of any listed system requirements for Android Studio, but they may be out there. You're probably going to have a hard time working within that 512MB memory constraint, though. Android Studio is currently sitting at around 1.2GB with two moderately-sized projects open, though I don't have Eclipse installed on this machine to compare to.