Do these work out of the box?

mtroxel

Nov 16, 2012
Visit site
I network computers for a living, have had Droid phones for 3 years now, and find that I could recomend them to clients. I have had a Nexus 7 tablet for a week now, and have upgraded it to Android 4.2.

What I find is that if I go to some sites with Chrome, I see the "Duplicate Headers" error. I see forum posts a year old with this complaint so its not something Google is going to fix. I don't get that error on my Razr browser. So I download Firefox. It also has trouble connecting to the same sites, and in fact no matter what site I go to it shuts down in a minute or less.

No flash, can't watch videos much of anywhere.

Can these things work without a bunch of flashing/rooting kind of work? I don't want to do stuff that my Joe Average user is way too intimidated to do. Then I can't recomend it to others.

Can these tablets just work out of the box?

cyanogen-man

Feb 1, 2012
Visit site
If your looking for flash content forget it. The Google chrome browser for android isn't the same. Unlike the chrome for Linux distros where the flash player is baked in. Blame adobe they killed flash delopment. They couldn't get apple to bite for flash player, so they threw a fit and stopped mobile development. There is a flash player for android ,but it's pulled from the market and requires a side load. Fire fox doesn't support flash either. Try dolphin or sky fire and find a flash .apk and simply side load it. No root required

INSPIRE AOKP ICE COLD SANDWICH ROM ;)

Suntan

Mar 16, 2011
Visit site
The Firefox Beta (in the play store) works on 4.2, it also still works with flash.

Yup, have to sideload flash if you want it. But lack of flash out of the gate is no different than any other comparable tablet on the market. At least a person has the option to add flash if they want.

I too do not know what this "duplicate headers" thing is, I've never seen it.

-Suntan

Unicorn Rancher

Jul 12, 2012
Visit site