Evo + Upgrade = A pretty good laugh

Status
Not open for further replies.

poolphreak

Jul 30, 2010
Visit site
Reading some of these threads about when Evo will get a update to 2.2, elicit's everything from laughter to complete disbelief.

I'll preface my post with a few things.... I just got a EVO about 2 weeks ago. I had a Palm Pro before that. I've been a PC Tech, Network Admin for the last 20 years, so I have some geek in me. I get excited about new technology, I get excited about new OS's, new updates for software. Excited as in, I keep up to date on forums, I install Alpha/Beta/RC builds of it.. that kind of thing.

Questions:

1. How does a smartphone getting a update, translate into a bunch of people feeling the need to inform a bunch of strangers on a forum (I would assume a very high percentage of them being male) that they just got a "boner" or the "jiz won't stop flowing" ? Am I missing something here?

2. While it's hard to believe, I do believe that there are going to many users on the different Evo forums, that are ACTUALLY going to start hitting their update buttons every minute or 2, all day today. I'm sure some of called in sick today from work, some that will make my order at McDonalds late because they're in the can, rapid firing on their phone trying to get a update.

3. Do people that post "How do I root the 2.2 update" or "When will there be a root update available"....... are they serious? With the update not even released yet, why would they think a root exploit is already available? Do they really think someone can give them a time of when a new root procedure will be available BEFORE it's even released?

On a side note, why do people post in a Evo forum, that they just got a Evo? Is there a spreadsheet I'm supposed to be keeping track of who gets a Evo in a Evo forum? We all know the posts.. "OMG, I just got my EVO"!