Notification swipe down intermittent and inconsistent on Nexus 5 running Lollipop 5.0.1

anon(9342437)

Feb 26, 2015
Visit site
I'm new to smartphones and I just bought a Nexus 5 and I immediately upgraded to the latest operating system Android 5.0.1 build LRX22C. I found a free quick start guide for Android 5.0 Lollipop in the google ebook store. It says, to see notifications, swipe down from the top of the screen with one finger. Now most of the time this doesn't work and swiping down doesn't get any response. Then once in a blue moon, my notifications will actually come up. Also swiping downwards with 2 fingers does not bring up the quick settings screen. It only intermittently brings up the notifications and then I have to swipe a second time to see the quick settings. I'm unsure of whether these inconsistencies are due to my hardware or this new android operating system as I've never used a previous operating system version for comparison. Is anyone else having these issues because this would indicate to me that it is most likely a software bug and I therefore shouldn't worry too much about it. I did put a screen protective film layer on my smartphone so maybe this is affecting it's sensitivity to screen touching and swiping. I'm new to all this stuff so any feedback is appreciated!:confused:

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central! It certainly could be the screen protector, so see how it functions without it.

anon(9342437)

Feb 26, 2015
Visit site