Need advice on off contract Moto X please

Scotlac

Jun 19, 2011
Visit site
Hi guys,

I've searched for this but can't seem to find the answer to my question. I apologize if this has been asked before.

I've been with Sprint ever since I got my first smart phone so I'm new to this whole off contract business. I recently signed with AT&T but I am still within my 14 days and with the recent drop in the price of the Moto X I'm considering my options.

I like to root my phone so I'm wondering if I need to go with the developer edition or if any of the off contract models would be unlocked. Also, any other advice regarding contract vs off contract (pros, cons, etc.) would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Posted via Android Central App

NoAck

Nov 13, 2012
Visit site
From what I understand, the T-Mobile Motomaker version is unlocked. It should also work on AT&T.

Scotlac

Jun 19, 2011
Visit site
Thanks Noack!

Would the developer version be easier to root than the T-Mobile version?

benhmadison

Mar 30, 2011
Visit site
Thanks Noack!

They are essentially the same model. The Dev edition allows you to keep a warranty through Motorola even with an unlocked bootloader whereas the T-Mobile version will not.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using AC Forums mobile app

Scotlac

Jun 19, 2011
Visit site
Awesome, thanks Ben! That's exactly what I was trying to figure out. I'm not overly crazy about the black and white design of the developer edition but that sounds like just what I need.

anon(847090)

Jul 8, 2012
Visit site
Thanks Noack!

Yes, developer edition is easy to unlock and root.

I think the same is true with T-Mobile version but ATT version might not be easy

You must also know that if you unlock and root Dev edition you WONT void the warranty but it might not be true with T-Mobile version

notserpmh

Apr 14, 2011
Visit site
Hi guys,

I've searched for this but can't seem to find the answer to my question. I apologize if this has been asked before.