Root droid... update to 2.1 step by step?

Ignitros

Oct 25, 2009
Visit site
I am wanting to root my Droid and update to v2.1 but I'm new to android and not all that familiar with the whole root process.

I have seen so many threads with information spread out over 100's of pages and sorting through what is good info and what is bad is mind numbing.

I'm hoping someone could provide a step by step process with a root download link, v2.1 update download link so that the process will be condensed into one easy to read section for everyone that is not as technically proficient as some others.

Thank you in advance to anyone saavy enough to do the write up.

Ignitros

Oct 25, 2009
Visit site
Looks like a winner... I'll have to try it when I get home from work. Anyone who is not super techincally literate try this yet? How was the level of frustration? Easy... hard? It looks pretty straight forward from what I have been able to read in the thread. Anything I should expect to see or be prepared for?

ardoreal

Nov 26, 2009
Visit site
Buggy? I just got it and so far it's flawless. No issues at all whatsoever.

All I got was a significant responsiveness improvement and a great new look.

bart151

Nov 10, 2009
Visit site
Im very tempted to update my Droid to 2.1 but curious, if it gives me bad results, how easy it is to revert back to the previous version?

brendanb

Nov 1, 2009
Visit site
Im very tempted to update my Droid to 2.1 but curious, if it gives me bad results, how easy it is to revert back to the previous version?

Its very easy. The instructions make you back up your 2.0.1 install and you restore the same way you would to install 2.1.

bart151

Nov 10, 2009
Visit site
Ok, well, Ive ran into a problem already.